Sirloin Steak with Pepper Relish

So the original recipe for this can be found here: Grilled Steak with Pepper Relish Recipe – Eating Well. I had to make a couple of changes to make it FODMAP friendly. The original recipe calls for onions for the relish. I substituted scallions and to be honest I didn’t measure it out. I just used up the bunch that was in my fridge that was on its way out. It should be noted that you should only ever use the dark green part of the scallion. You may notice that there are some light green in mine but that is because that is the category I am working on adding back in at this point. It also calls for garlic powder for the steak which I swapped with Garlic-Infused Oil which I posted earlier today. I also used a mixture of fresh lemon thyme and dried thyme. The major change was that I don’t have a grill so my “grilling” all took place under my broiler on a cast iron grill pan.


Sirloin Steak with Pepper Relish

Yield: 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 3 small red, orange, and/or yellow bell peppers, sliced
  • 1 bunch of scallions, green parts only
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp capers, rinsed
  • 1 tbsp finally chopped fresh thyme or 1 tsp dried, divided
  • 1/2 tsp salt, divided
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper, divided
  • 1 lb sirloin steak, trimmed
  • 1 tsp garlic-infused oil, divided

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the broiler or grill.
  2. Combine bell peppers, scallions, vinegar, olive oil, capers, 2 teaspoons fresh thyme (or 3/4 teaspoon dried) and 1/4 teaspoon each of salt and pepper in a large bowl.
  3. Stack two long sheets of foil. Arrange the pepper relish on one half and fold the foil. Seal up the packet by crimping.
  4. Brush both sides of the steak with garlic-infused oil and sprinkle with the remaining thyme, salt and pepper.
  5. Oil the grill pan or rack with garlic-infused oil. Place the steak and the pepper mixture on the grill. For medium rare, 4 minutes per side; medium, 5 minutes. Cook peppers 10-12 minutes or until tender. Let the steak rest for 5 minutes before dividing into four portions. Serve the steak with the peppers.

What would I change?

The big thing would be I would rather do this on the grill than in my oven. That was just an equipment handicap. Other than that I felt like this recipe worked really well.

Leave a Reply

