Greens, Eggs, and Ham Sandwich

Every Easter I end up at a loss with what to do with all of the leftover ham. In my pre-FODMAP life it was easy enough. You slap some ham between two slices of bread, throw on some cheese and mustard and call it a day. While I can still technically do that I still do not like wheat free bread as I’ve already explained. That was when I remembered this Greens, Eggs, and Ham Sandwich – Recipe.com and decided to give it a shot. The original recipe is set up for four servings. I live on my own and even when I do have company for breakfast I’m the only one that eats it. Pretty much everyone I know is opposed to the most important meal of the day which just baffles me. So what’s listed here is a single serving but it is easy enough to multiply.


Green, Eggs and Ham Sandwich

Yield: One sandwich

Ingredients

  • 1 slice wheat free bread (I used Udi’s White Sandwich Bread)
  • 1/2 tbsp whole grain mustard (be sure to check the labels for onion and garlic powders)
  • 1 oz thinly sliced ham
  • 1 slice low-lactose cheese (Swiss, Cheddar, etc)
  • 1 pat butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp water
  • handful of arugula

Instructions

  1. Pre-heat broiler. Place bread on baking sheet. Broil for 1 minute per side until toasted. Remove from the oven and spread mustard on one side of the bread. Top with ham and cheese. Broil an additional 2 minutes until cheese is melted.
  2. In a frying pan melt the butter over a medium heat. Add egg to pan and season with salt and pepper. When the whites are cooked, add water. Cover the eggs and cook another 2 to 3 minutes until eggs are cooked as preferred. This recipe works best with an over easy egg. I cooked my egg to medium out of personal preference.
  3. Place the egg on top of the bread. Top with arugula or spinach.

     

What would I change?

Honestly, not that much. I might try different cheeses or styles of hams going forward. That’s just experimentation though.

 

One thought on “Greens, Eggs, and Ham Sandwich

Leave a Reply

