Bacon-Wrapped Roast Beef

Every once in a while I like to break out a roast to make me feel like an adult. This particular time I was looking for a way to get rid of the leftover carrots from Easter dinner as well as what I had left of my arugula from my breakfast sandwich endevor. My Pepperplate account came to the rescue with Bacon-Wrapped Beef Tenderloin with Roasted Tomatoes and Arugula – Recipe.com. So obviously I made some changes. I swapped the tomatoes for the carrots because I just hate tomatoes. Where I live on my own I didn’t make the full sized salad, just shrunk it down to a single serving and made it fresh every time I had leftovers. The cut of beef was different as well.


Bacon-Wrapped Roast Beef

Yield: 6 servings

Ingredients

  • 1 2.5 lb beef tenderloin or roast of choice
  • 1/2 lb bacon
  • 9 cups of arugula
  • 1/4 cup crumbled blue cheese
  • 2 tbsp of balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 F.
  2. Rinse and pat the beef dry. Season with salt and pepper. Wrap with bacon, slightly overlapping the slices and tuck the strips under the beef.
  3. Roast until beef registers medium-rare, about 30-35 minutes. I personally undercook my roasts and then just eat the ends the first night I have it. That way I can reheat it through the week without it drying out.
  4. Let the beef rest on a rack for 15 minutes before carving.
  5. Toss the arugula with the cheese, vinegar, and olive oil. Salt and pepper to taste.

What would I change?

Different cut of roast would work better with this particular recipe. Also, I would probably roast potatoes with some rosemary and olive oil around the beef instead of throwing in my left over carrots toward the end. I think cooking it in the same pan with the herbs would give it a nice fragrance.

Leave a Reply

