Country-Fried Steak with Green Beans and Rice

I had a ton of green beans left to cook this week so a quick search through my recipe list helped me figure out a way to get them out of my fridge and into my belly. I ended up going with Country-Fried Steak with Green Beans and Rice Recipe from Delish. I’m a sucker for cooking with cube steaks because of how quick they are. You always have to worry about over cooking them and they aren’t the nicest of cuts by any means but you cannot deny that they are convenient.

This recipe’s tweaks were easy enough to make but they were big important pieces to the recipe. Flour obviously needed to be something other than wheat flour so I used rice flour I had in my pantry. Milk needed to be lactose free and obviously, no onions so scallions came out to play again.


Country-Fried Steak with Green Beans and Rice

Yield: 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup long grain white rice (I used Jasmine Rice)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup and 1 tsp of wheat free flour or choice
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 4 minute steaks
  • salt and pepper for seasoning
  • 1/4 cup plus one 1 tsp of olive oil (I actually used canola oil because I was almost out of olive oil)
  • 1 1/2 cup lactose free whole milk
  • 1 bunch of scallions, cut on a bias
  • 3/4 lb of green beans

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 250F to serve as a holding oven.
  2. Cook the rice according to the package instructions and set aside.
  3. Beat eggs in a wide shallow bowl and combine flour and paprika in a second wide shallow bowl.
  4. Season eggs, flour, and steaks with salt and pepper.
  5. Dredge steaks in flour, eggs, and then flour again. (I only did one dredge because I wasn’t sure how the rice I picked would work)
  6. Heat the 1/4 of oil in a cast iron skillet over medium-high heat. In theory you can use other skillets but everyone knows that the best way to fry something is in cast iron.
  7. Cook steaks until golden brown on both sides, 3-4 minutes per side (I did a little less because I was the only person eating and I didn’t want to over cook them when  I reheated them later). Transfer to a baking sheet to keep warm in the holding oven.
  8. Pour off most of the oil from the skillet and combine with the teaspoon of flour. Cook until golden and slowly add the milk to make a gravy, letting it reduce to the right consistency. Season with salt and pepper and set aside covered.
  9. In another medium skillet, heat the teaspoon of oil over medium-high heat. Add the scallions to season the pan before adding the green beans. Add 1/2 cup water and cover. Cook until beans are bright green. Remove cover and continue to cook beans until cooked through.
  10. Reheat the gravy. Serve steaks with gravy, rice and green beans.

What would I change?

So the reason there aren’t pics of the process is that it isn’t all that pretty to look at raw meat chilling in some flour. My big change I would make is the flour I used. I used a rice flour and the consistency of the coating was just weird. Despite seasoning everything the rice flour cancelled it all out.  It also gave the gravy a really awkward texture. I ended up throwing it out. I think next time I would probably use the King Arthur’s Flour Gluten Free All Purpose Flour. I’ve had a lot of luck with it for other things and it is completely FODMAP safe unlike a lot of gluten free flour blends.

Leave a Reply

