Strawberry Shortcake Cupcakes

In spite of my crushing defeat at the hands of wheat free bread making last week I made another attempt at wheat free baking. Honestly, I was going to give myself longer to recover and get my bruised ego to heal. Baking was always something I was good at, back when I could use wheat at least. But I noticed these Strawberry Shortcake Cupcakes on Buzzfeed and just had to attempt them.

The major change was pretty obvious. No wheat all purpose flour for me. I used the King Arthur Multipurpose Flour that has become one of my favorite things ever. Normally when you make something like cupcakes wheat free you need to add some xanthan gum to provide structure to make up for the lack of gluten. Of course I completely forgot about that when I went to the grocery store so I had to improvise. Instead I increased the butter content, it was a random stroke of brilliance that made perfect sense to me last night when I made the cupcakes but I cannot explain now for the life of me but it worked! I whisked everything by hand because turns out I don’t have an electric hand mixer. It was tiring, especially the frosting, but completely doable.


Strawberry Shortcake Cupcakes

Yield: 12 cupcakes

Ingredients

  • For the cupcakes:
    • 1 2/3 cups (210g) King Arthur’s Gluten Free Multipurpose Flour
    • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
    • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt
    • 3/4 cup unsalted butter- melted
    • 1 cup sugar
    • 2 egg whites
    • 3/4 cup milk
    • 1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt
    • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
    • 12 medium strawberries- hulled
  • For the frosting:
    • 1 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
    • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
    • 3 to 4 tablespoon powdered sugar (or more to taste)
    • 1/2 cup strawberries chopped into really small pieces (or it will stuck into the piping tip)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F, line cupcake pan with 12 liners and set aside.
  2. Combine the dry ingredients for the cupcakes in a bowl.
  3. Melt butter in a small sauce over low heat.
  4. Transfer melted butter after slightly cooled to a large bowl and whisk in sugar. Once the sugar is incorporated (it will still be grainy), whisk in egg whites, milk, yogurt, and vanilla.
  5. Slowly mix in the dry ingredient mixture and mix until well combined. It was a little looser than most cupcake batters I’ve worked with because of the flour. Divide the batter into 12 cupcake liners. I baked for 20 minutes but the insides were still a little soggy. You end up removing the centers of the cupcakes so it is up to you if you want to bake them a bit longer or not.
  6. Hollow out the center of the cupcakes and insert a strawberry inside. I used a spoon to scoop the insides out and then just pushed the strawberry in the rest of the way. The cupcakes are easy enough to shape this way
  7. Make the frosting in a large bowl. Beat the heavy cream until soft peaks form. Add powdered sugar and vanilla and continue beating with a whisk or hand mixer until hard peaks form. Stir in the strawberries. You can pipe the frosting onto the cupcakes. I personally did not because my piping bag and I were not friends that day.

IMG_0115

What would I change?

Considering I am still a complete novice at wheat free baking I’m pretty proud of these. I might try it with using xanthan gum next time but no complaints about this batch at all!

Leave a Reply

